verykrot.blogg.se

Alternatives to quicken essentials for mac
Alternatives to quicken essentials for mac









  1. #Alternatives to quicken essentials for mac install
  2. #Alternatives to quicken essentials for mac upgrade

This is helpful when filing my income tax return.Īnd unlike the 2005 version of Quicken I was previously using, Quicken Essentials 2010 doesn’t let me do that.

alternatives to quicken essentials for mac

Quicken Essential does this fine.īut I also need to be able to create a report for each year, showing my expenses and income by category, and totaling each category. I need something that lets me enter expenses and income, keeping a balance, and assigning each item into a category. My needs in financial software are fairly basic. Disenchanted with Quicken EssentialsĪlthough I was able to successfully import my financial data into Quicken Essentials, I quickly became disenchanted with the program. In the July article, I walked users through the process I went through of exporting and importing my Quicken data – something that I did prior to upgrading to Lion. Intuit does have a Mac product, Quicken Essentials 2010, which will run under Lion – and which will import Quicken 2007 exported data, as long as the data is imported into Quicken Essentials prior to installing Lion (since, as I mentioned above, the Quicken File Exchange utility requires Rosetta, and hence won’t run under Lion).

#Alternatives to quicken essentials for mac install

Otherwise, Intuit suggests users install Windows on their Mac (perhaps using one of several virtualization programs) and run the Windows version of Quicken. The problem: It doesn’t import existing financial data. Intuit has not been especially helpful to its Mac user base the company’s advice to users with this problem is to open an account with Intuit’s online financial service.

alternatives to quicken essentials for mac

As a result, Quicken 2005 (which I was running), Quicken 2007, and the Quicken File Exchange utility won’t run on a Mac running Lion. Moreover, the Quicken File Exchange utility included with the current version of Quicken – used to import data from earlier versions or Windows versions – is also compiled for PowerPC Macs. Although all Macs have used Intel CPUs since 2006, Intuit coded all Mac versions of Quicken prior to the current Quicken Essentials 2010 for PowerPC. Migrating to Quicken Essentialsīriefly, Lion no longer includes Rosetta, Apple’s software that, in previous versions of OS X, allowed Intel Macs to run software created for earlier PowerPC Macs.

alternatives to quicken essentials for mac

#Alternatives to quicken essentials for mac upgrade

In July, I wrote in Using Quicken for Mac? Read This Before You Upgrade to Lion about issues that I – along with any Mac user running an older copy of Intuit’s Quicken personal finance software – would be having when upgrading to OS X 10.7 Lion.











Alternatives to quicken essentials for mac